Skip to content ↓

1.2 Curriculum Model

Curriculum Principles

Our curriculum is planned and structured on the following fundamental principles:

  • All students have an entitlement to the whole curriculum provision; irrespective of their ability, gender, ethnicity, culture or social or economic background.
  • The curriculum is broad, balanced and contributes to the education of the whole child.
  • The curriculum is filled with rich first-hand experiences and is flexible and responsive to individual needs and interests.
  • The curriculum actively promotes the fundamental values of British citizenship; democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty and mutual respect and tolerance for those with different faiths and beliefs.
  • The school focuses on ensuring that all students make progress in reading, writing and mathematics.
  • The curriculum encourages all students to be responsible for their own learning and to engage in a variety of learning experiences.
  • Teachers have high expectations of all students and plan lessons to support yet challenge all learners.

Curriculum Structure

The Blacon high School curriculum is structured through a 2 week timetable. We value the role that all subjects play in providing our young people with an enjoyable and diverse learning experience. This is enabled through:

  • A 2-week timetable that allows for careful allocation of time to each subject and experience
  • A 3-year Key Stage 3 that ensures students have sufficient knowledge from a broad and balanced curriculum before personalising their pathway.
  • A full 2-year Key Stage 4 in which all students are given the full two years to complete all programmes of study.
  • A comprehensive extra-curricular offer during lunch times, after school and in a range of ‘Cultural Capital Days’ that cover a range of personal development themes, topics and experiences.
  • A commitment to develop the cultural capital of all students.
  • Equal and open course choice for students of all abilities and backgrounds.
  • A personal development programme that promotes the schools values, fundamental British Values and SMSC development.
  • A Careers Education programme that meets the expectations set by the Gatsby benchmarks.

The Key Stages are as follows:

  • Key Stage 3 includes Years 7, 8 and 9
  • Key Stage 4 includes Years 10 and 11